About Star-University CC

Hamilton Star University Cricket Club is one of Hamilton’s oldest, largest and most successful cricket clubs.

The club was founded prior to World War I, before merging with Star Cricket Club in the early 1950s, and eventually aligning with Waikato University in 1983.

Based at Waikato University the club co-owns and has management responsibility for a bookable three-net covered training facility.

Hamilton Star University Cricket Club (Star Uni for short) fields six senior teams in Hamilton Cricket Association competitions – Premier, Senior A, Senior B and Senior C.

The club’s highlights over the last decade have included trophy-winning victories in the Premier One Day Cricket completion (Hec Holland Plate, 2012-2013, 2018-2019 and 2019-2020), Premier two-day cricket competition (Eddy Marr Bowl, 2013-2014, 2014-2015) and a long-awaited victory in the Premier Three Day final (Howden Cup, 2013-2014, and a repeat victory in 2014-2015). Since the introduction of the Richard Dodunski Cup for Premier T20 cricket, Star Uni has won the competition twice.

Over the past three years, Hamilton Star University CC has provided a number of players to the Hamilton team (Elliot Santner and Sajith Dhambagolla) as well as the Hamilton B side (Ben Morris Brown, Ruben Clinton, Adam Winter).

The club is managed by an 8-man board with a range of personal and professional backgrounds, including Waikato University students and alumni.

Star Uni’s roster in recent years has included women players, plus cricketers from the West Indies, India, Australia, Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Pakistan and Wales, as well as Maori and Polynesian New Zealanders, making it one of the most multi-cultural clubs in the city.

Several of the club’s teams are drawn from Hamilton’s Indian community and players of all skill levels and backgrounds are welcome.

In 2022 the club launched a new junior programme to given children an opportunity to play cricket.

The club prides itself on organisation and structure, and is focused on retaining and enhancing traditional club cricket culture – including baggy hats for 50-match milestones, and social functions.

– Email name and contact details to cricket@hsucc.co.nz

Club Location: Waikato University cricket nets (access via Gate 3A, Silverdale Road)

Club Training: Monday Senior B and Senior Cs on Monday from 5.30pm
Tuesday: Premier and Senior A on Tuesday from 5.30pm
Thursday: Whole club from 4.45pm

Get In Touch

  • Glenn Weenink
  • TBC