1. The Competitions:

• Games will be 50 overs per side. A minimum of 15 overs per team will constitute a match

• Associations can by mutual arrangement agree to play at a neutral venue to cut down on travel. When setting venues all Associations should be aware of the one day nature of the competitions and set a venue as close as possible to the visiting Association

• If weather prevents a game being played on a turf pitch, then artificial pitches may be used

• Abandoned games may be rescheduled with the agreement of both DAs. We want to maximize playing opportunities for these teams, but also recognize that DAs have differing competition structures involving Sunday play, so rescheduling may not be possible in all cases. If games are rescheduled it is the responsibility of the host DA to inform Pat Malcon [ND] and Kevin Earl [Umpires’ Manager].

2. Nomination of Players:

• Teams may be composed of 12 players, but only 11 may bat

• All 12 players can field and bowl, but only 11 players are to be on the field at any one time

• The 12th man may be rotated on and off the field, bearing in mind the rules of cricket in terms of eligibility to bowl in relation to a player’s time off the field (i.e if off the field for more than 15 minutes cannot bowl till back on for length of time off the field)

3. Equipment:

• Each team is expected is to provide its own set of stumps and bails

• Four piece red 156g balls (Kookaburra Regulation) will be provided by each team.

4. Dress:

• Teams wear either white cricket clothing or Association or Club coloured clothing

5. Hours of Play:

• Start time 10.30am. This start time may be altered by mutual consent. It is the responsibility of the host Association to inform Umpires of any change in time

• Lunch to be taken between innings. A 40 minute break shall be taken. Lunches are the responsibility of each team, unless reciprocal hosting arrangements have been made by DAs.

• A drinks break shall be taken at the end of 25 overs. In very hot conditions drinks may be taken after 17 overs and 34 overs.

• Latest finishing time is 7.00pm.This may be adjusted if the start time is changed (e.g. 11am start, 7.30pm finish). The finish time is extended if the side bowling second fails to bowl the necessary overs by the scheduled finish time.

6. Length of Innings:

In matches where the start is delayed or where play is suspended

(a) The object should be to rearrange the number of overs so that
both teams have the opportunity of batting for the same number of overs (minimum 15 overs each). The calculation of the number of overs to be bowled shall be based on an average of 14 overs per hour in the time remaining before the latest finishing time

(b) If the team batting second has not had the opportunity to
complete the same number of overs as the team batting first, the Duckworth Lewis calculations shall be implemented using the CricHq scoring system.

7. Fielding Restrictions/Power Plays: NZCricket One Day rules apply

• There may be no more than five fielders on the onside at any time

• Power play 1 : Overs 1-10

No more than two fielders are allowed more than 30 yards from the pitch

• Power play 2: Overs 11-40
No more than 4 players are allowed more than 30 yards from the pitch

• Power play 3: Overs 41-50
No more than 5 fielders are allowed more than 30 yards from the

Note: A 30 yard circle may not be marked on all grounds used in this competition , but the intent of the rules should be applied

8. NZCricket One Day Rules apply to the following:

• No. of overs per bowler i.e 10 max, or 1/5 of total overs in a reduced innings

• Wides

• No balls. Two fast short pitched deliveries over shoulder height per over are allowed (but note that over head height is a wide)

• All no balls give the batsman a free hit next ball
9. The Result:

• A result can only be achieved if both teams have the opportunity of batting for at least 15 overs

• In the event of a tie, the result will be decided in favour of the team losing the least number of wickets. If both teams have lost the same number of wickets, the result will be decided on the higher rate of scoring in the first 15 overs of each innings

10. Umpires:
Umpires are appointed by the ND Umpires’ Manager

In all matches it is the responsibility of the team captains to complete reports on umpires. These will be done on line [details to follow]