R.M. Dodunski Trophy Premier Mens T20 Final

HOB 122-5 (B Hatwell 30, J Brown 27) beat HBHS (J Walker 30, S Singh 28* & JS Chahal 3-26, M Lanting 2-11) by 19 runs; Full Scorecard

A fantastic conclusion to the Premier Men’s T20 competition, with two long standing rivals going toe-to-toe in an all Hamilton affair. On a beautiful day at Galloway Park, we saw Hamilton Old Boys (HOB) victors over arch-rivals Hamilton Boys High School (HBHS) and go on to claim the Dodunski Trophy for 2019/2020.

HBHS captain Joe Walker won the toss and elected to field first, with the hope of putting some early pressure on Hamilton Old Boys. It did not pay dividends as HOB started powerfully and with intent to maximise the powerplay overs. Opening batters Josh Brown and Brook Hatwell set HOB up with 37-0 off 3.2 overs, with Brown striking four boundaries and a maximum in his 27 from only 14 balls. A good catch from Josh Dinan  brought an end to Browns aggressive innings, before Dinan struck again instantly with the ball in hand, clean bowling Jake Harvey for 3, HOB finished the powerplay 56-2. Satvir Singh (15) and Hatwell (33) created a partnership but HBHS bowled tight, especially in the middle overs to keep the run rate down. HOB able to score only 33 singles between overs 8 and 16 as Ethan O’Donoghue (1-16) and Joe Walker (1-14) protected the boundaries. HOB finished with 122-5 at the close of innings.

As the mid-day heat began to taper off, HOB removed both openers Jack Devane (14) and Brogan Hayman (13), Mike Lanting claiming two in four balls to leave HBHS stuttering on 34-3 after 6 . HBHS were given a bit of hope with skipper Joe Walker and Sukhjit Singh (28*) formed a solid partnership through the middle overs before Cooper Rowell had Walker (30) caught behind, HBHS 83 -4 in the 17th. Jitender Singh Chahal claimed wickets in the final overs to finish with 3-26 as HBHS concluded their 20 overs with 103, falling short by 19 runs as Hamilton Old Boys were crowned champions.

Recent Posts